Harvey the Rabbit’s Birthday

1 Mar

Birthday blessings, my dear one, my familiar, O apple of my eye.  In my picture archives I found a video of you and me on one of our TV nights. I had filmed you in case I woke up one day and you were gone.

I am travelling now, but when I have access to a computer that will allow it, I’ll upload it here.

Update:

“Can you describe her assailant?”

“Oh, he was a vampire.”

20 Responses to “Harvey the Rabbit’s Birthday”

  1. SEF March 1, 2011 at 11:55 pm #

    That’s one relaxed-looking bunny! :-D

    Such gorgeous fur too.

    • Snailquake March 2, 2011 at 12:05 am #

      His fur was very nice to kiss. :)

      • SEF March 2, 2011 at 10:30 am #

        It’s funny you should say that, since I’d been thinking that if I had a bunny like that I’d be wanting to bury my face in its fur – except of course I’d have to restrain myself because of my allergies as well as the bunny possibly not appreciating being snozzled.

        • Snailquake March 2, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

          One of the things I enjoyed about snozzling him was that, unlike with the cats, it didn’t make me sneeze my head off.

          And he enjoyed being snozzled. My current rabbit has yet to learn that form of enjoyment.

          • Snailquake March 19, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

            Update: Broccles likes being snozzled now too.

            • SEF March 20, 2011 at 1:37 am #

              Good.

              Harvey doesn’t seem bothered by your choice of horror(?) movies. Was he interested in the TV at all?

              • Snailquake March 20, 2011 at 3:41 am #

                Only inasmuch as it was a nice time to sit around and be petted or groomed. The guinea pigs, on the other hand, seem happier the more horrific the TV programme is.

  2. John Champneys March 2, 2011 at 2:23 pm #

    I’ll reiterate:
    Harvey was a Yogabhrashta.
    The process has completed.
    When the river joins the ocean, where has it ‘gone’?

    • Snailquake March 2, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

      I’m still going to celebrate his birthday, though.

      Regarding rivers and oceans: I’m sitting in a hotel lobby in Leeds right now, wondering if my uncle in the nearby hospital will ever wake up. And something that has been really helpful lately in thinking about life and death has been my recent lessons in Environmental Science. Looking at how the Earth functions makes me really conscious of the planet as a moving, breathing, ever-changing entity that we are all a part of, and will always be a part of whatever forms we pass through.

      By forms I’m not quite meaning the Hindu-type Other Lives here. I mean the fact that our substance, our skin and bones and water and elements, are continuously moving through cycles, some of which converge for a time as us, but all of which are part of this great organism, the Earth.

      • Snailquake March 2, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

        Incidentally, you’ve got me Yogabhrashta-spotting everywhere I go!

  3. gmomj March 13, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Your blog always makes me happy!
    I gave you the Stylish Blogger Award.
    Congrats!

    • Snailquake March 14, 2011 at 12:41 am #

      Thank you! I haven’t heard of this award, but it sounds like an honour. :)

      • Snailquake March 14, 2011 at 12:44 am #

        Aha… I read your blog and I understand a little better now.

  4. Bella March 16, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    I think Harvey is adorable and I for one can’t wait for you to get to a computer where you can indeed post the video!

  5. boot March 19, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    How much I wish I had videos of my loves from the past. Including Patches of 35 years ago. My sweet.

    I can feel the love in this scene, Snailrind. Thank you for sharing it.

  6. Hallysann May 28, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    Great post, thanks.
    I was forever pointing my camera at Rabbitt when he was here. I’m so glad I did, now that he isn’t.

    • Snailquake May 28, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      Ah, I just left a sympathy post on your blog – hadn’t realised you had seen this entry. Like you, I’m very glad I used my camera a lot. I miss him so much still, and the photos do help.

Leave a Reply

