Waggledance, Dance, Waggledance

26 Feb

These two old beehives stand in the grounds of the manor up the lane. I don’t know whose they are or how long they’ve been there, but they seem to be empty. I quite fancy myself as a beekeeper, and am half-tempted to ask if I may fill them with honeybees. Of course, I would need someone to tend them when I’m away or ill, and for some reason, Bunty is too fearful of stingy insects to do it. Any takers?

Fearful he may be, but also fond. Bunty once wrote this poem for me:

MMMM

Bees the, the, the bees

Buzz around buzz-buzz me buzz on me

Tales telling Tintagel to of me

Quiet lie I here, under waiting

Betwixt watching and tasting

Waggledance, dance, waggledance, dance, waggledance

Dilly-dally dally-dilly-O

Tomorrow yet and yet tomorrow goes

Dilly-dally dally-dilly-O

Waggledance, dance, waggledance, dance, waggledance

8 Responses to “Waggledance, Dance, Waggledance”

  1. cloudhopper February 26, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

    Bloody fine beer, as it happens… Waggledance, that is.

    • Snailquake February 26, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

      It would not at all surprise me to be told he’d been drinking it while he wrote that poem.

  2. Lemongrass February 26, 2011 at 9:32 pm #

    I love bees, but I am scared of their stings. If you do decide to keep bees (which might be the best thing in the world), take advice about using the old hives from an expert first. Sometimes the old hives can house disease.

  3. SEF February 27, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I think you’re totally the sort of person who ought to keep bees. But I can’t offer you any meaningful help in doing it.

    Several times I’ve come close to buying official bee houses (though mostly I seem to have mortar or mud mining bees). I nearly succumbed again last week while I was in the garden centre. I did plant some lavender the other year to try and make my local bees happy – because it’s the plant which a wide variety of bee species seem to visit/mob round here. Mine needs to grow a bit more though.

    • Snailquake February 27, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

      I keep meaning to make or buy some of those. Maybe this year…

      I also have some packets of insect-attracting flower seeds, which I suppose can be planted around now.

  4. Brianda Domecq February 27, 2011 at 8:32 pm #

    Dear Snailquake: I am thoroughly enjoying your posts and love animals myself, so reading about them makes me smile always. Thank you for visiting my site; I have signed up for yours. Looking forward to sharing our posts. Brianda

    • Snailquake February 27, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Thank you for the lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

