Love Under Cover of Darkness

14 Feb

Bunty’s two cats have been entering into the spirit of Valentine’s Day. They have been inordinately affectionate, climbing all over us and purring and rubbing their cheeks on us and coating us with fur, and trying to drool into our mouths. Bunty and I have been doggedly working around them, sitting in increasingly contorted positions in order to see our screens and use our keyboards at the same time and, with any luck, achieve something productive. Bunty is a web designer and I am a student, so access to our computers is essential. The cats do not understand this basic fact. Especially today.

Bless ’em. They have always been lovingly inclined.

It all reminds me of when Bunty and I first started dating. We met online and lived 300 miles apart, so to give us the illusion of being together, we used webcams. At night, our webcams switched to their infra red settings and we could watch each other sleeping. This is how I discovered something that Bunty did not know about his cats.

When he’s fast asleep, Monkey (the grey one) likes to come and sit on his chest and gaze at his face, purring noisily. Then she gently leans over and gives him a lick on the mouth, and the snoozing Bunty responds with a kissy face, pursing his lips into a smooch. The first time I saw this, I nearly died laughing. Were it not for the invention of the infra-red camera, I would never have seen it.

13 Responses to “Love Under Cover of Darkness”

  1. cloudhopper February 14, 2011 at 9:48 pm #

    Doggedly? *g*

    • Snailquake February 14, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

      I wondered if someone would mention that. I tried very hard to think of an alternative word, but couldn’t. Any suggestions?

      • SEF February 15, 2011 at 9:46 am #

        English generally has many options for something but they all have slightly different nuances.

        ? determinedly, single-mindedly, persistently, assiduously, unyieldingly, conscientiously, uncompromisingly

        Or you could just look in an online thesaurus …

        • Snailquake February 15, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

          You expect me to RTFM? For shame!

          Assiduously’s pretty good, but now the silliness of “doggedly” has grown on me, so I think I’ll keep in. Unless anyone mounts a campaign against it.

  2. cloudhopper February 14, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    …resolutely.

    • Snailquake February 14, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      Not enough fraught determination.

  3. Lemongrass February 14, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    I knew this, but it made me laugh an awful lot anyway. The idea of watching each other on webcams in the dark is quite sweet.

  4. onesweetiepea February 16, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Gorgeous looking cats!

    • Snailquake February 16, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

      Thanks! We certainly think so.

  5. toemailer March 22, 2011 at 4:02 am #

    Never heard of infra red webcams before but it is a pretty neat idea!

    • Snailquake March 22, 2011 at 4:28 am #

      I picked mine up at a supermarket for about £15. It was excellent.

  6. heretherebespiders November 6, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    Hi! I know this is an older post, but Confessions of a CatWoman said I’d like your blog, and I do! ‘trying to drool into our mouths’ hooked me, and the long distance relationship finished the deal – I met my husband on line seven years ago.

    • Snailquake November 20, 2011 at 5:49 am #

      Hey, thanks very much for popping by! Online love seems to be on the increase – my brother and Bunty’s brothers met their wives that way too. :-)

Leave a Reply

