The William Wallace Horses

19 Jan

It was the calls of wild geese that summoned me into the frosty, woodsmoke-laden sunshine this morning. I wasn’t swift enough with my camera to capture them flying overhead, but then I spotted some horses grazing in the distance, under the Wallace Monument. (Or Mel Gibson Monument, as it has become.)

I donned my wellies and made off across the fields, crunching the ice in the tractor furrows, and nearly landing on my head in the mud when a gate I was climbing over turned out not to have a lower hinge.

This pony was the first to greet me. She was friendly and docile, and let me stroke her nose and neck.

This horse gives hoodie wearers a bad name. He approached me with speed and aggression, biting the white one on his way, and I was suddenly very conscious of his size and strength and general hoofiness.

I reminded myself that he must be used to having women in wellies taking charge, so I adopted my best Pony Club stance, and without backing down, I greeted him by clicking and blowing. He stuck his nose in my pocket and then began to eat my scarf.  I took that as a good sign, and patted him on the neck. He took it well.

I turned to look back at them as I climbed over their fence to head for home. They had already gone back to grazing, and appeared to have completely forgotten about me. That’s what happens, I suppose, when you don’t bring sugar lumps.

6 Responses to “The William Wallace Horses”

  1. boot January 19, 2011 at 9:27 pm #

    Goodness, how I love your tales of adventure. It’s like you’re living in a whole other century, never mind a different country.

    Tch. No sugar cubes. For shame.

    • Snailquake January 20, 2011 at 10:28 am #

      I’m so pleased you are enjoying my new blog, Boot!

  2. murfomurf January 20, 2011 at 11:42 pm #

    I’m chuffed that you put yourself in mortal danger just to capture these shots of horsies for your readers! I’d be much more scared of that one in the hoodie with the evil eye!

    • Snailquake January 21, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      Smoke me a kipper – I’ll be back for breakfast!

  3. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife January 31, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    WOW – this is so cool! I love your photos, and the one with the castle captured my heart … sigh … Looks so beautiful! Great blog!

    • Snailquake January 31, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      Thank you! I was very much enjoying browsing your blog and photos last night too.

Leave a Reply

