Suddenly There Came a Tapping

10 Jan

Early this morning, I was sitting alone in the office, at the computer. A sudden tapping on the window-pane next to me startled me out of my Farmville-induced torpor, and I looked up to see a squirrel gazing in at me. He was standing on the windowsill with that sort of could-you-move-your-car-it’s-blocking-my-Range-Rover expression on his face. I gawped back at him. I don’t normally get this close to squirrels. He paced back and forth on the windowsill for a bit, tapped the pane again, and finally shot me a disparaging look before climbing past me onto the roof.

Did I have my camera to hand during this? Of course not. So here is one Bunty took earlier – in October, to be precise. It may or may not be the same squirrel, but it provides the clue as to what today’s one wanted: Bunty has been feeding them.

6 Responses to “Suddenly There Came a Tapping”

  1. Kimberly January 10, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

    What a fabulous picture that is!

  2. SEF January 10, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    Feeding squirrels is a bit like getting gremlins wet.

    We once had a squirrel who used to come up to the kitchen door and tap on the glass to demand nuts. He’d hardly back away at all when you came to open the door and toss him a few nuts – which he’d eat right there in front of you.

    • Snailquake January 11, 2011 at 1:10 am #

      Feeding squirrels makes more squirrels burst out of blisters on their backs? No wonder he’s been buying nuts for them – that sounds amazing!

      • castlegardener January 11, 2011 at 1:14 am #

        i agree…terrific photo….yay for new friends…

  3. Lemongrass January 11, 2011 at 3:43 am #

    I loved this. Did I larf.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Suddenly There Came a Tapping | | http://dersfree.x10.mxhttp://dersfree.x10.mx - November 3, 2011

    […] snailquake.wordpress.com/2011/01/10/suddenly-there-came-a… […]

Leave a comment