Zoology Student

20 Nov

In case you are thinking I am still in the Sahara, I had better start by saying I am not, and I haven’t even been kidnapped by nomads – I suppose I wasn’t their type. Also, I didn’t steal that camel in the end. There have been numerous animal-related adventures since I last blogged, but I have not had an opportunity to write about them, because – to my great delight – I have embarked on a zoology degree. This is what has been taking up all of my time since I returned to Scotland.

Here’s a photographic catch-up of our Moroccan sojourn.

After Morocco, I went by myself to the Greek island of Corfu, to visit my father and stepmother. They live in a hill village surrounded by ancient olive groves, and their internet connection is not ideal for blogging.

It was lovely to see my family this summer, but it was also lovely to get home and be greeted by all the furries at our wee cottage. They had been well looked after, but even so, the rabbit and cats came crowding round me with enthusiasm and affection when they saw me. The guinea pigs greeted me by clamouring noisily for food.

I am enjoying university immensely. It’s like being eighteen again, only with less angst and less inclination to party all night. I am fond of this graffito outside my faculty building:

"i LiKe MiCe"

9 Responses to “Zoology Student”

  1. minlit November 20, 2011 at 4:53 am #

    Wey-hey! Welcome back! I was wondering what had happened to you!

    • Snailquake November 20, 2011 at 5:21 am #

      Thanks! I haven’t been ignoring you – honest!

  2. John Champneys November 20, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Just two things.
    The first’s your first photo
    And the last’s the last.

    The first with the small boy was almost (but not quite) the spitting image of the place I lived in India in 1985. The small boy isn’t, of course, so small noe and has become my chauffeur.
    The second is delight that there’s someone on the planet who knows about A GRAFFITO!

    • Snailquake November 20, 2011 at 6:28 am #

      Give my love to your chauffeur. :)

  3. SEF November 21, 2011 at 1:03 am #

    Such pretty shells … and I really want to snaffle that lovely podgy lizard. The artificial robo-gecko is nowhere near as attractive.

  4. heretherebespiders November 21, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Oh, so happy for you doing zoology! I tried but the money ran out. Best of luck!

    • Snailquake November 21, 2011 at 9:41 pm #

      That’s a crying shame about the money! I am guessing that was in America, then? I am getting a fee waiver here, for being poor.

  5. Colin 'Chauffeur' Manchester February 17, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

    Ahh, blue skies. Something we rarely see here in Manchester!

    • Snailquake February 17, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

      Thanks for dropping by my blog.

      You know, we have a guinea pig called Colin. Take that how you will…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 591 other followers

